Skip to main content
Click Here For COVID-19 Vaccine Information
Franklin County Ohio Logo


Thursday, January 12, 2023
Tyler Lowry, Franklin County Commissioners, 614/525-6630
Robin Ross, Franklin County Commissioners, 614/525-2392

On January 3, the Franklin County Board of Commissioners selected John O’Grady to serve as president of the board for 2023.  Commissioner O’Grady was first elected to the board in 2008 and previously served as president in 2010, 2013, 2016, 2017, and 2020, so this is his fourth term of office and his sixth stint as board president.
Each year, the commissioners select one of their own to serve as president of the board, overseeing the body’s weekly General Session and Briefing meetings.  The board president also serves as spokesperson for the Board of Commissioners at community events, meetings, and during media interviews.  The board of commissioners is the administrative arm of Franklin County, directly overseeing 14 county agencies and setting the more-than $2 billion budget for the entire Franklin County government.

“I am humbled to have been chosen by my colleagues to lead our board again this year and am looking forward to an exciting and productive 2023,” said Commissioner O’Grady.  “Our county is in a good financial position and the community continues to thrive, but there are significant challenges ahead as we work to ensure that each of our residents has the opportunity to be successful.  In particular, I’m looking forward to advancing our efforts on affordable housing, workforce development, child care, education, and transportation and broadband infrastructure.”

The Franklin County Board of Commissioners meets in General Session each Tuesday at 9:00 a.m., and for weekly Briefing meetings at 9:00 a.m. on Thursdays.  All meetings are open to the public but due to the ongoing pandemic, the commissioners encourage interested parties to attend virtually online.  Meeting and login information can be found here.