Skip to main content
Click Here For COVID-19 Vaccine Information
Franklin County Ohio Logo

County Administration

The Franklin County Board of Commissioners relies on a County Administrator, and three Deputy County Administrators, to run the day-to-day operations of the county.

  • Kenneth N. Wilson

    Kenneth N. Wilson - County Administrator

  • Kenneth N. Wilson was appointed to the position of county administrator in January 2015.  As county administrator, the highest unelected post in county government, Mr. Wilson leads 14 county agencies with more than 1,400 employees and oversees the county’s annual $1.99 Billion budgeting process for 35 agencies to ensure Franklin County remains one of the finest, best-governed counties in the nation.  He also directly supervisors the Department of Economic Development and Planning, Public Affairs, and the Office of Diversity, Equity and Inclusion. Mr. Wilson was hired in 2005 as director for the county’s Office of Management and Budget. In 2010, Mr. Wilson was elevated to the role of deputy county administrator for Resource Management, and previously oversaw other county agencies including Job and Family Services, the county’s largest social service agency. 

    Prior to joining the county team, Mr. Wilson was director of policy for the Ohio Senate Minority Caucus. He holds a Master’s in Public Administration from Ohio University and a B.A. from James Madison College at Michigan State University, where he majored in Public Affairs, Metropolitan Studies, and Business. 

    He serves as president of the National Association of County Administrators, vice-chair of the National Association of Counties (NACo), vice-chair of the Ohio City/County Management Association, and on the NACo International Economic Development Task Force.

    In addition, he holds positions with the National Association of Counties Health Steering Policy Committee, Healthy Counties Initiative Advisory Board, NACo Programs and Services Standing Committee, NACo's Large Urban County Caucus, the Ohio University Leadership and Public Affairs Advisory Committee, the United Way of Central Ohio board, Economic Mobility Coalition, Confluence Community Authority NCA, Hickory Chase Community Authority, Solid Waste Authority of Central Ohio, Greater Columbus Sports Commission, Future Ready Five, Experience Columbus, North Market Mixed-Use Project New Community Authority and is the designee for the Franklin County Investment Advisory Board and the Franklin County Emergency Management Agency

    He also previously served as president of the County Administrators Association of Ohio.


    Executive Assistant: Carla Wallace
    Tel: 614-525-4132
    Fax: 614-525-5940
    Email: [email protected]

  • Kris Long

    Kris Long, Esq. - Deputy County Administrator

  • Deputy County Administrator Long oversees Public Facilities Management, Human Resources, Fleet, Purchasing, Sanitary Engineering, the Clerk to the Board of Commissioners, the Government Affairs and Ethics Director, and is the commissioners’ representatives on the Board of Revisions, amongst additional responsibilities.  Ms. Long previously worked in the Ohio Senate and in the Governor’s office.  She was Governor Ted Strickland’s Deputy Chief of Staff for Legislation and Operations, and held the positions of Legislative Director and Executive Assistant for Public Safety and Criminal Justice and the Bureau of Workers Compensation. 

    Prior to joining the Governor’s administration, she was Chief of Staff and Legal Counsel to the Ohio Senate Minority Caucus. Ms. Long moved to Ohio after working in private practice in Michigan.  She has non-profit and management experience, having  served on the Ohio State Bar Association Board of Governors and the Ohio Humanities Council, and having previously served as President of the Community Refugee and Immigration Services Board. Ms. Long is a graduate of Hope College in Holland, Michigan, earned her law degree from the State University of New York at Buffalo School of Law, and is admitted to the Bar in Ohio and Michigan.
    Executive Assistant: Toya A. Williams
    Tel: 614-525-4263
    Fax: 614-525-5940
    Email: [email protected]

  • Joy Bivens

    Joy Bivens - Deputy County Administrator

  • Deputy County Administrator Bivens oversees the Board of Commissioners’ health and human services agencies and the Franklin County Department of Animal Care and Control  (including the Franklin County Dog Shelter and Adoption Center).  The health and human services agencies include Job and Family Services (JFS), which is the county's largest agency and core social safety net, the Office on AgingChild Support Enforcement, and Justice Policy and Programs. Ms. Bivens first joined Franklin County in 2004 as a JFS case manager before leaving to begin her own home healthcare administration agency. She returned to Franklin County in 2015 to serve as Chief Operating Officer for JFS and was appointed Director of the agency the following year.  
    Ms. Bivens holds leadership positions on the National Association of Counties Human Services and Education Policy Steering Committee, and the Ohio Job and Family Services Directors’ Association. She also serves on numerous local boards and workgroups, including the Franklin County Community Based Correction Facility Governing Board, the Franklin County Criminal Justice Planning Board, and the Children of Incarcerated Parents Action Group. She previously served as an elected member of the Whitehall City School Board, as Vice President of the Whitehall Area Chamber of Commerce, and as chair of the Board of OhioMeansJobs Columbus-Franklin County. Ms. Bivens is a graduate of Capital University. 

    Executive Assistant: Toya A. Williams
    Tel: 614-525-4263
    Fax: 614-525-5940
    Email: [email protected]


  • Brittany A. Razek

    Brittany A. Razek - Clerk to the Board of Commissioners & Director of Community Appointments

  • Clerk Razek manages the preparation of meeting agendas, facilitates all public meetings of the Board of Commissioners, transcribes meeting minutes, maintains and archives Board of Commissioners official public records, manages appointments for boards and commissions - including the selection process, appointment, onboarding, and liaising with the appointee during the appointee’s term, and supervises the Deputy Clerk and staff of the Clerk's Office.

    Prior to joining the Board of Commissioners, Ms. Razek served as Director of the Prosecution Resources Unit, Intake Division in the Office of Columbus City Attorney Zach Klein. As Director, Ms. Razek was responsible for overseeing and managing the Mediation Program, assisting the Policy Counsel with the various Theft Diversion programs, and handling all public records requests. Before joining the City Attorney's Office, Ms. Razek volunteered as a Diversity Workshop Leader & Facilitator through the National Coalition Building Institute. Ms. Razek is a graduate of The Ohio State University with a Bachelor's degree in Criminology and Criminal Justice Studies, as well as Sociology. She received her law degree from Capital University Law School. 

    Clerk: Brittany A. Razek
    Tel: 614-525-5387
    Fax: 614-525-5999

    Deputy Clerk: Lauren M. Graessle
    Tel: 614-525-5330
    Fax: 614-525-5999
    Email: [email protected]

    Administrative Secretary: Alicia Kingston
    Tel: 614-525-4043
    Fax: 614-525-5999
    Email: [email protected]