Skip to main content
Click Here For COVID-19 Vaccine Information
Click here to tell us about your county website experience
Franklin County Ohio Logo


Thursday, September 08, 2022
Tyler Lowry, Franklin County Commissioners, 614/525-6630
Robin Ross, Franklin County Commissioners, 614/525-2392

Each of the Franklin County Commissioners and several of their top staff are again in leadership positions this year with the National Association of Counties (NACo).  The organization represents nearly 40,000 elected officials serving in the more-than 3,000 American counties, helping share best practices among communities from across the nation and representing the interests of counties in Washington D.C.  As usual, Franklin County has more staff and commissioners among NACo leadership than any other county in Ohio.
Board President Erica C. Crawley will be serving on the Human Services and Education Steering Committee, which focuses on children’s issues, foster care, social services, senior services, immigration policy, education, and services for people with disabilities.  It’s 2022 policy priorities include adding flexibility for the ways that counties can use American Rescue Plan money to help their communities recover, expanding broadband access, and promoting the availability of mental health and substance abuse treatment, among many others.
Commissioner John O’Grady will be chairing the Large Urban County Caucus, which represents the 160 million residents who live in our nation’s metropolitan counties.  He will also serve on the NACo Board of Directors, and on the Arts and Culture Commission and International Economic Development Task Force.
Commissioner Kevin L. Boyce will be serving this year as vice chair of the Telecommunications and Technology Steering Committee, which works on all matters pertaining to telecommunications and technology policy, including IT innovations, geospatial data collection and utilization, and cable technology and implementation.  He is also part of the Large Urban County Caucus and the Immigration Reform Taskforce.
County Administrator Kenneth N. Wilson will be serving as vice chair of both the Finance, Pensions and Intergovernmental Affairs Steering Committee and the Healthy Counties Advisory Board, as well as a member of the International Economic Development Task Force, the Large Urban County Caucus, and the Programs and Services Standing Committee.
“NACo is an asset for counties all over America, connecting leaders from across the country so that we can all learn from each other and also representing the interests of county governments at the highest levels in Washington D.C.,” said Administrator Wilson.  “Serving in leadership there allows us to make sure that Franklin County’s residents’ needs and concerns are heard, and lets us be a resource and asset to the organization and our sister counties across the country.”
In addition, several other county staffers will be serving at NACo this year.  Deputy County Administrator Joy Bivens will be on the Human Services and Education steering committee, and the commissioners’ Chief Information Officer Juan Torres and Chief Information Officer of the Franklin County Data Center, Adam Frumkin, are members of the Information Technology Standing Committee.
To learn more about NACo and how it supports and represents the nation’s counties, visit