Skip to main content
Click Here For COVID-19 Vaccine Information
Click here to tell us about your county website experience
Franklin County Ohio Logo


Thursday, July 30, 2020
Tyler Lowry, Franklin County Commissioners, 614/525-6630
Robin Ross, Franklin County Commissioners, 614/525-2392

As they have in recent years, all three Franklin County Commissioners have been named to leadership roles with the National Association of Counties (NACo), which represents our nation’s 3,069 counties, nearly 40,000 elected county officials, and 3.6 million county employees.  In addition to the commissioners, County Administrator Kenneth Wilson, Job and Family Services Director Joy Bivens, and Director of the Office of Justice Policy and Programs, Michael Daniels have also been appointed to leadership roles.  Franklin has more staff and commissioners in leadership at NACo than any other county in Ohio.

Each year, NACo holds an Annual Conference and Exposition in one of its member counties around the nation.  This year, the meeting was held virtually due to the pandemic, and county commissioners and staff participated online.  The organization helps communities from around the nation to share their experiences in government, best practices, and new ideas.  The members approve a platform each year, and NACo advocates on behalf of county governments in Washington D.C.

This year, Board of Commissioners President, John O’Grady will serve as Vice Chair of the Large Urban County Caucus (LUCC), and as a Subcommittee Chair for the Community, Economic and Workforce Development Steering Committee.

Commissioner Marilyn Brown is a member of both the Arts and Culture Committee and LUCC Steering Committee, and Commissioner Kevin L. Boyce will be Chairman of the Finance, Pensions, And Intergovernmental Affairs Steering Committee, as well as serving on the Immigration Reform Task Force and LUCC Steering Committee.

“The National Association of Counties fills an important role in advocating for the best interests of county governments in Washington,” said Franklin County Administrator Kenneth N. Wilson.  “And it’s important to us to see to it that the interests of Franklin County residents are represented at NACo.  We learn from our colleagues around the country via NACo, and are proud to help lead the organization in this very challenging time.”

Wilson will be Chairman of the Healthy Counties Initiative Advisory Board, Vice Chair of the Health Steering Committee, and a member of the LUCC Steering Committee.  Bivens is a Subcommittee Vice Chair for the Human Services and Education Steering Committee, and Daniels will be a Subcommittee Vice Chair for the Justice and Public Safety Steering Committee.