Skip to main content

Commissioners, Staff Named to National Leadership Roles

Tuesday, July 24, 2018
Contact: Tyler Lowry, Franklin County Commissioners, 614/525-6630
Marty Homan, Franklin County Commissioners, 614/525-5273

All three Franklin County Commissioners have been named to leadership roles with the National Association of Counties (NACo), policy steering committees, ad hoc and standing committees, and various caucuses and task forces.  In addition, County Administrator Kenneth N. Wilson has been elected Midwest Regional Vice President for the National Association of County Administrators (NACA).

The commissioners and key staff members recently attended the NACo Annual Conference and Exposition in Nashville, Davidson County, Tennessee. The National Association of Counties unites America’s 3,069 counties to share best practices, and advocates on behalf of county governments in Washington, D.C.   Last year, Franklin County hosted the conference, which brought 3,000 commissioners and other elected leaders to our community from across the nation. 

This year, Board of Commissioners President, Kevin L. Boyce has been appointed as chairperson of NACo’s Finance, Pensions, and Intergovernmental Affairs Steering Committee, and vice chair of the Immigration Reform Task Force, and he is a member of the International Economic Development Task Force, and the Large Urban County Caucus (LUCC).

Commissioner Marilyn Brown is a member of the Large Urban County Caucus Steering Committee, the Arts and Culture Commission, and the Healthy Counties Initiative Advisory Board.

Commissioner John O’Grady is the vice chair of the LUCC Steering Committee, subcommittee chair for economic development in the Community, Economic and Workforce Development Steering Committee, and a member of the Arts and Culture Commission and International Economic Development Task Force.

In addition to having been elected as a regional vice president of NACA, County Administrator Kenneth N. Wilson serves as a vice chair of the Healthy County Initiatives Advisory Board, and is a member of the International Economic Development Task Force and the LUCC Steering Committee, and several other staff people are also helping to lead the organization.  Director of the county Job and Family Services Department, Joy Bivens, is a subcommittee vice chair in the Human Services and Education Steering Committee, and the county’s Justice Policy Coordinator, Michael Daniels, is a subcommittee vice chair in the Justice and Public Safety Steering Committee.

Download Press Release