Skip to main content

O'Grady Elected President of the Board of Commissioners for 2017

Monday, January 09, 2017
Contact: Tyler Lowry, Franklin County Commissioners, 614/525-6630


Franklin County Commissioner John O’Grady was selected this morning by a unanimous vote of the three-member Board of Commissioners to serve as board president for 2017. O’Grady began his third term on the board last week, and has previously been president of the board in 2010, 2013, and 2016.

Each year, the commissioners select one of their own to serve as president of the board, overseeing the board’s weekly General Session and Briefing meetings. The board president also serves as spokesperson for the Board of Commissioners at community events, meetings, and during media interviews.

“I’m honored and humbled to be recognized again by my colleagues and selected to lead the board in 2017,” said O’Grady. “And I couldn’t be more excited as we go forward this year with a really strong board and an ambitious agenda to continue to help make Franklin County the best it can be for all of its residents.

The Franklin County Board of Commissioners meets in General Session each Tuesday at 9:00 am and Thursday at 9:00 am on the 26th floor of the Franklin County Courthouse, 373 S. High Street. All meetings are open to the public.

Download Press Release