Skip to main content
Click Here For COVID-19 Vaccine Information
Franklin County Ohio Logo

Franklin County Designated a Disaster Area; Farmers Eligible for Assistance

Wednesday, March 23, 2011
Tyler Lowry, Franklin County Commissioners, 614/525-6630
Robin Ross, Franklin County Commissioners, 614/525-2392

Due to excessive rain, flooding, high winds, and tornadoes that occurred from February 2-March 23, 2011, United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Secretary Thomas Vilsack designated much of Central Ohio, including Franklin County as a natural disaster area. This designation makes the farm operators of Franklin County eligible to be considered for assistance from the Farm Service Agency (FSA), provided eligibility requirements are met.

Farmers have eight months from the June 24 designation to apply for emergency loan assistance. FSA will consider each loan application on its own merits, taking into account the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability. FSA has a variety of programs, in addition to the emergency loan program, to help eligible farmers recover from adversity.

Contact Linda Claypool, Farm Loan Manager, for more information at (740) 653-4012 ext 45 or <a href="[email protected]" target="_Blank" rel="noopener noreferrer">[email protected]</a>.

<a href="" target="_Blank" rel="noopener noreferrer"></a>

Letter from Secretary Vilsack