FRANKLIN COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS

Briefing Session Minutes Thursday, December 3, 2020

> President O'Grady Commissioner Brown Commissioner Boyce

The purpose of the meeting was to review resolutions submitted for the December 8, 2020, General Session, and to discuss other matters pertaining to the programs of the agencies.

The meeting was held exclusively via Zoom conference call, by dialing (929) 436-2866; Meeting ID: 320 183 941, or by visiting: https://franklincountyohio.zoom.us/j/320183941

President O'Grady convened the meeting at 9:00 A.M.

ENGINEER

William "Fritz" Crosier, Chief Deputy of Engineering, Engineer's Office, offered a resolution requesting the Ohio Department of Transportation to reduce the speed limit on Rovilla Road, Township Road No. 201, Jefferson Township, Franklin County, Ohio (Engineer).

Mr. Crosier reviewed information found in documents submitted with the proposed resolution.

William "Fritz" Crosier offered a resolution requesting the Ohio Department of Transportation to reduce the speed limit on Darling Road, Township Road No. 200, Jefferson Township, Franklin County, Ohio (Engineer).

Mr. Crosier reviewed information found in documents submitted with the proposed resolution.

William "Fritz" Crosier offered a resolution regarding Moody Engineering, Inc., consulting engineers appointed to assist the Franklin County Engineer with general engineering services, Franklin County, Ohio (\$100,000.00) (Engineer).

Mr. Crosier reviewed information found in documents submitted with the proposed resolution.

William "Fritz" Crosier offered a resolution regarding ms consultants, inc., consulting engineers appointed to assist the Franklin County Engineer in performing design engineering services for

the Ferris Road at Walford Street Improvement project, Clinton Township, Franklin County, Ohio (\$169,353.51) (Engineer).

Mr. Crosier reviewed information found in documents submitted with the proposed resolution.

SHERIFF

Albert Smith, Assistant Finance Director, Sheriff's Office, offered a resolution authorizing an agreement with Raising the Bar Performance Group, to provide implicit bias training during inservice supervisor training (\$23,500.00) (Sheriff).

Mr. Smith reviewed information found in documents submitted with the proposed resolution.

TREASURER

Allyse Thomas, Budget and Purchasing Coordinator, Treasurer's Office, offered a resolution authorizing a contract with Proteam Solutions, Inc. (PSI) to provide deliverable-based services to the Franklin County Treasurer System (FCTS) (\$312,000.00) (Treasurer).

Ms. Thomas reviewed information found in documents submitted with the proposed resolution.

JUSTICE POLICY AND PROGRAMS

Caitlin Looney, Grants Coordinator, Justice Policy and Programs, offered a resolution authorizing a subgrant award for services with After-School All-Stars for the RREACT Buddies program, matching first responder mentors with children impacted by the addiction crisis under the FY 2018 Comprehensive Opioid Abuse Site-Based Program grant (\$91,741.09) (Justice Policy and Programs).

Ms. Looney reviewed information found in documents submitted with this proposed resolution.

Caitlin Looney offered a resolution authorizing a contract with the Franklin County Municipal Court for peer support services through CDC Overdose Data to Action grant from Franklin County Public Health (\$30,000.00) (Justice Policy and Programs).

Ms. Looney reviewed information found in documents submitted with this proposed resolution.

BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS

Zachary Talarek, Director, Office of Management & Budget, Board of Commissioners, offered a resolution authorizing a contract with the Capital Crossroads Special Improvement District for participation in the Downtown C-Pass Program to provide transit services for eligible Franklin County employees (Board of Commissioners).

Mr. Talarek reviewed information found in documents submitted with this proposed resolution.

Ms. Kacey Brankamp, Program Director, Downtown C-pass, Special Improvement Districts Downtown Columbus; and, Michael Loges, Senior Economic Development Project Manager, COTA, addressed the Board in support of the proposed resolution.

Zachary Talarek offered a resolution authorizing the issuance, repayment and extension of various interfund loans (Board of Commissioners).

Mr. Talarek reviewed information found in documents submitted with this proposed resolution.

Zachary Talarek offered a resolution authorizing appropriation adjustments for the county's wellness incentive and public transportation benefit programs, termination payouts, workers' compensation expenses, and to offset budgeted vacancy reductions (Board of Commissioners).

Mr. Talarek reviewed information found in documents submitted with this proposed resolution.

Zachary Talarek offered a resolution authorizing the distribution of CARES Act funding to respond to the public health emergency with respect to COVID-19 (Board of Commissioners).

Mr. Talarek reviewed information found in documents submitted with this proposed resolution.

Scott Fisher, Chief Financial Officer, ADAMH; Dan Shook, Chief Financial Officer, Franklin County Children Services; and, Amy Funk, Assistant Director – Administration, Office on Aging, addressed the Board in support of the proposed resolution.

Erik Janas, Deputy County Administrator, Board of Commissioners, offered a resolution of the Franklin County Board of Commissioners to convene into Executive Session for the purpose of considering details relative to security arrangements and emergency response protocols (Board of Commissioners).

Mr. Janas noted the proposed resolution.

The Clerk noted that no journalizations were expected at General Session on Tuesday, December 8, 2020.
With no further business before the Board, the meeting was adjourned at 9:33 A.M.

(Signature Page Follows)

These minutes are a general summary of the Commissioners' Briefing Session for December 3, 2020.

JOHN O'GRADY, PRESIDENT

MARILYN BROWN

KEVIN L. BÖYCE BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS FRANKLIN COUNTY, OHIO

Submitted by:

Dean M. Hindenlang,

Clerk to the Board of Commissioners