County Homepage |

Task Force on Climate Preparedness and Resilience

On Nov. 1, 2013, President Obama issued his Executive Order, (Exec. Order No. 13653, 78 Fed. Reg. 66817), dealing with the impacts of climate change and establishing, in subsection 7, a bipartisan Task Force for Climate Preparedness and Resilience.

I was honored to be appointed as Ohio's sole Task Force member, along with 25 other State, Local, and Tribal leaders from around the nation.

I was appointed Co-Chair of the Energy Sector of the Built Systems Subgroup, and also served on the Natural Resources and Agriculture Subgroup, leading in the Food System Security and Sustainability area.

Immediately after our appointment, the White House asked each member on the Task Force to reach out to stakeholders to seek ways we all can most effectively work together, collaboratively, to address this complex issue.

We worked with stakeholders around the state to identify how the federal government, without new money, can remove bureaucratic barriers, invest wisely, and otherwise facilitate preparedness and systemic resilience to what we know is happening... more frequent and more severe weather impacts.

Our work culminated in a list of recommendations delivered to Vice President Biden in November, 2014. Since then, the Administration has been taking action.

Commissioner Brooks (front row, third from the left) with her fellow Task Force members and Administration staff in the White House State Dining Room.

John O'Grady President
Marilyn Brown
Kevin L. Boyce