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NON-TIPPED EMPLOYEES
A Minimum Wage of
$7.70 per hour

“Non-Tipped Employees™ includes any employee who does not engage in an occupation 1n which he/she customanly and regularly receives more than
thurty dollars ($30.00) per month in tips from patrons or others.

“Employers” who gross under $283,000.00 shall pay their employees no less than the current Federal Mininmim wage rate
“Employees” under the age of 16 shall be paid no less than the current federal mimmum wage rate.

“Current Federal Minimum Wage" 15 $7.25 per hour.

TIPPED EMPLOYEES

A Minimum Wage of
$3 85 per hour PLUS TIPS

“Tipped Employees” includes any employee who engages in an occupation in which he/she customarily and regularly receives more than thirty dollars ($30.00)
per month in tips from patrons or others. The tips are proven if indicated by the employee’s declaration for the purposes of the federal insurance contribution act.
Including when tips are added to the employee's wage, his'her hourly pay cannot be less than the regular mimmum wage of $7.70 prescribed by law.

Below is a partial summary of the reguirements and exemptions for minimum and overtime wages. Persans should refer to Ohio Revised
Code Chapter 4111 and the federal Fair Labor Standards Act of 1938, as amended, for specific reguirements applicable to them. For further
information about minimum wage issues, please contact: The Ohia Department of Commerce, Divisian of Industrial Compliance & Labor,

6606 Tussing Road, Reynoldsburg, Ohia 43068. Phone: (614) 644-2239. TTY/TDD: 1-800-750-0750.

OVERTIME

1. An employer shall pay an employee for overtime at a wage rate of one
and one-half times the employee’s wage rate for hours in excess of
forty hours in one work week, except for employers grossing less than
$150,000 per year

2 Hospitals and Nursing Homes are permitted time and one-half in excess
of eighty hours in a two week period and also in excess of eight hours a day

PERAMANENT RECORDS TO BE KEPT BY THE EMPLOYER

1. Each employer shall keep permanent records for at least three years,
available for copying and mspection by the Director of the Ohio
Department of Commerce, showing the following information conceming
each employee

A Name

B. Address

C Occupation

D. Rate of Pay

E. Amount paid each pay period

F. Hours worked cach day and each work week

2. The records may be opened for inspection or copying at any reasonable
time and no employer shall hinder or delay the Director of the Ohio
Departraent of Commerce in the performance of these dutes

HANDICAPPED RATE

To prevent the custailment of opportunities for employment and avoid undue
hardship to individuals whose eaming capacity is affected or impaired by
physical or mental deficiencies or injuries, a sub-minimum wage may be paid,
as provided in the rules and regulations set forth by the Director of the Ohio
Department of Commerce

INDIVIDUALS EXEMPT FROM MINIAMUM WAGE

1. Any individual employed by the United States;

2. Anyindividual employed as a baby-sitter in the employer’s home,
or a live-in ion to a sick, ¢ lescing, or elderly person
whose principal duties do not include housekeeping,

3. Any mndividual employed as an de salesman comy
by commissions or in a bona fide executive, administrative, or

professional capacity, or computer professionals;

4. Any mndividual who volunteers to perform services for a public agency
which is a State, a political subdiviston of a State, or an interstate
govemnment agency, if

(i) the individual receives no compensation or is paid expenses,
reasonable benefits, or a nominal fee to perform the services for
which the mdividoal volunteered, and

(1) such services are not the same type of services which the
individoal is employed to perform for such public agency.

5 Any individual who works or provides personal services of a
charitable nature 10 a hospital or health institution for which
compensation ts not sought or contemplated,

6 Any individual in the employ of a camp or recreational area

for children under eighteen years of age and owned and operated
by 2 non-profit organization or group of organizations

7. Employees of a solely family owned and operated business who are
family members of an owner.
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